Piranha 3DD

May 22, 2012 — 17 Comments

Prehistoric piranhas make their way into a newly opened water-park in Piranha 3DD. Directed by ‘Feast’s John Gulager, and the follow up to the surprisingly enjoyable Piranha 3D 2010.

These sort of films are supposed to be tongue-in-cheek, over acted, and trashy, the story plot full of stereo typed characters and bad decision making, along with good measures of tasteless gore and dark humour. Yet having all the right ingredients doesn’t mean you can make a good cake. It takes a brilliance to balance these elements together and make something special, something marvelous. Director, Alexandre Aja, achieved this when he delivered Piranha 3D in 2010. Piranha 3DD does not. It feels like they’ve bought together a collection of not-so-funny one liners and cameo’s and written a story around them, filling in any gaps with recycled material from the first film and Jaws 3D. (Certainly an interesting decision, given that Jaws 3-D was a horribly disappointing sequel itself).

The production quality wasn’t bad, and the sound was okay. The CGI and effects were a bit dodgy in places, but on the whole, passable. The real downfall for this film is the script. The dialogue starts a little wooden, but becomes increasingly worse as the film progresses and towards the end it’s cringe worthy. The jokes are shockingly terrible, and I don’t mean offensive, as in edgy or dark, they’re just bad. The characters are two dimensional and dull with virtually no relationship building; it’s difficult to care whether they live or die. Piranha 3DD is just sloppy (or lazy) writing. It’s just a bunch of unexciting ideas that have been forced together to fill up 90 minutes. I never thought I’d say this, but by halfway through I was desperately hoping the piranha would sprout wings.

The humour might appeal to some, and there’s generous nudity throughout. Christopher Lloyd has some brief screen time and he is superb. It may be enjoyable with a group of guys over a few drinks and a stack of pizza, but I’d probably give it a miss and re-watch Piranha 3D instead.

Our Rating: 4.2 / 10

17 responses to Piranha 3DD

  1. 

    4.3 is pretty high I think!

  2. 

    Am, no, just no! 🙂

  3. 

    What’s not to love about this one!!?!!?

  4. 

    I really enjoyed Piranha 3D. I’m looking forward to this one. Like you said, its probably most well-suited for a movie night with friends, pizza and beer.

  5. 

    Hey there, thanks for reading my recent blog post on 3D technology!

    I’ve never seen Piranha 3D, having dismissed it as guaranteed awful. But if you’re saying that its the good kind of awful, I may well check it out.

  6. 

    I enjoyed the first 2010 Piranha. It was a film that knew it was cheap and played it up, this sequel just seems like a blatant cash grab, you’re review is great.

  7. 

    I found the remake awful and have no desire to see part 2. I’ll stick with Dante’s original thank you.

  8. 

    Damn, I had a really good time with Piranha 3D. I was hoping this would be at least half decent. I should have known better than to trust anything with the Hoff in it/

  9. 

    Was it as bad as Sharktopus?

  10. 

    If the cover is 3D, it might be worth buying, anyway ; )

  11. 
    WordsFallFromMyEyes June 1, 2012 at 11:38 am

    Wow, another excellent review – you’re good at this.

    I’ve never heard of Piranha 3DD but as soon as I read the name, of course I knew!

    I didn’t even like the sound of the ‘normal’ Piranha, but this – script that starts wooden & gets worse! The only thing being 3D, the obvious. I love reading the comments you get …

    Noeleen
    http://www.VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com
    http://www.WordsFallFromMyEyes.wordpress.com

  12. 

    I completely agree with you and yet my own Piranha 3DD review is almost positive! Basically I felt that the film represented everything that’s wrong in the world, and then I decided that I like John Gulager too much to believe that he would do something so terrible by accident 😛

  13. 

    My husband and I watched this last night and everything you have said in this review is the truth. Terrible, terrible movie. I am very happy to have found your blog, I am now going to read on with a cup of tea. Thank you! 🙂

  14. 

    Sorry to hear that it sucked so bad. I also enjoyed the first film. Hopefully the remake of creature from the black lagoon will be good, doubt it though

What do you think?

