Underworld: Awakening

January 21, 2012 — 13 Comments

Kate Beckinsale returns as the latex clad, vampire warrior, Selene, caught up in a war between Vampires, Lycans and Humans. Kate’s Husband, Len Wiseman has stepped out of the director’s chair for this latest addition to the Underworld series, handing the reins to swedish duo Måns Mårlind and Björn Stein, to make their theatrical debut.

First, lets get one thing out of the way, Underworld: Awakening has shamelessly ripped off Resident Evil: Afterlife. The similarities are numerous, from the way the film is shot to the story line. But then, why not? Resident Evil: Afterlife breathed life back into the Resident Evil series, and if there were ever a series that needed resuscitating then Underworld was it. How the series managed to ride the success of the first Underworld, through almost ten years and two lousy sequels is an impressive accomplishment of its own. It took four attempts, but they finally got it right.

Underworld: Awakening is fast and exciting from the opening scene to the credits, its packed with edge of your seat action that doesn’t flag or become repetitive. Some of the Lycan CGI is questionable, but the rest of the film looks beautiful and sleek, using the series’ signature dark greys, solid blacks and striking blue tones, blended with bold lines and sharp angles. The story moves extremely quickly but is easy to follow, and barring a few minor plot holes, makes sense. There are a few things that will make your jump and cringe, but this is more of an action horror so don’t expect to lose any sleep. After seeing this, your more likely to go out and buy a cool leather jacket than go to bed with the lights on. At 88 minutes, it’s relatively short, but it doesn’t feel like it, the ending wraps up perfectly, leaving you wanting more. Underworld: Awaking is a lot fun.

Our Rating: 7.2 / 10

13 responses to Underworld: Awakening

  1. 

    The third entry was so bad (“Lycans”), I’m reluctant to see this. But then I like Beckinsale as an actress, so perhaps Netflix.

    • 

      Believe me when I say I am not fan of the Underworld series, in fact I partly went to see this just because I was looking forward to tearing it apart on here, which may be why I enjoyed it so much, expectations so low and all that. I was surprised how much I enjoyed it.

      • 

        I finally saw it a couple of weeks ago. It also took me by surprise! I thought it was weird when I started laughing at Selene as she sliced and diced her way through the biopharm company. She made being a vampire look cool again. From that point on, I was a happy camper. That giant werewolf was scary.

  2. 

    Thanks for the review. I can’t wait to see this on the big screen. Maybe this weekend.

  3. 

    Is this a film you can see and enjoy without having seen the others?

  4. 

    Good to see they have finally made a decent stab with this series. The other ones were pretty awful to be honest but I don’t really see they managed to make them bad.

    The setting provided plenty of opportunities for it to be a top bit of filmage.

    • 

      I know exactly what you mean, On paper the pitch for the trilogy must have looked great: Blade meets The Matrix – I can’t help but feel that just a few minor changes would have made this series soooo much better! But I think this maybe the reboot it needs. Without giving to much away, I think there is a real opportunity to for another character to step into Kate’s role and almost tell a whole new story 😀

  5. 

    I’ve been a fan of this series for a while and I’m glad to see this rings positive. Looking forward to checking it out!

  6. 

    A great review – you’ve really hit on why this entry in the series works and what it does well (the action/horror mash-up) and what isn’t quite so good (hi there, rubber cgi werewolves!).

    Please have a ‘7 X 7’ award on me, to do with as you will – it’s one of those blog-linking efforts, where you highlight some of your best posts, favourite blogs and share some fascinating insights about the blogger – or non-interesting memories of walking out of Steven Seagal flicks, in my case – more guff here – http://fluffrick.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/seven-x-seven/

  7. 

    like the underworld movies…still haven’t seen this one tho

What do you think?

